Has anybody seen HBO's documentary GASLAND?

The price of apathy towards public affairs is to be ruled by evil men. (Plato)
1WILD1

Has anybody seen HBO's documentary GASLAND?

Postby 1WILD1 » Fri Jun 25, 2010 12:51 am

And if you have what is your opinion? I would appreciate both the negative & positive & the obvious BULLSHIT.
My friends have been blasting me with questions and I haven't had the time to watch & research it....shit, I feel like I am in college again cramming for a damn final!!
Thanks!!

dejapig
Site Admin

Re: Has anybody seen HBO's documentary GASLAND?

Postby dejapig » Fri Jun 25, 2010 9:20 am

I'm glad you asked. :grin:

I work in the natural gas industry and can tell you that the film is a slick piece of propaganda--more like a "mockumentary." "Big Oil" is not perfect by any means, but natural gas is a clean, abundant and domestic energy source that has created 2.8 million American jobs (including mine!) and it is vital to our nation's clean-energy future and economy. Hydraulic fracturing is a proven technology that has been refined over 60 years. It has allowed companies to safely produce natural gas from more than 1 million US wells. The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), Ground Water Protection Council, Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission and others have all examined the process and found it to be safe.

As for the film, I have excerpted the response from ANGA's website (America's Natural Gas Alliance) found here...
http://www.anga.us/the-truth-about-gasland/ (It links to many of the source documents I couldn't link to here as they are pdfs.)